Noob needs advice

Reaction score
Hi guys!
This is the deal:
I work as a web developer in Mexico. Have done a few real estate websites. On the side, I am very interested in R/C, but never had the chance to own a helicopter or a quadcopter for that matter.

I thought I would kill two birds with one stone and get myself a Phantom with a GoPro camera to do aerial footage of some of the properties my customers want to sell/rent - and at the same time have some fun while making money. The town where I live has a very extensive offering of real estate, and I think I could make some money off doing aerial footage of the more expensive properties.

Do you think it is a viable setup? I am pretty confident I can get the Phantom up in the air and flying, but I have read a lot about jittery video (jelly?) that can be remedied by using foam and/or some kind of stabilizer that is set up with wires? Read about a $ 700 gimball (Pan/Tilt) about to be released. Is it true? Will it be worth the money?

Watching good Phantom footage, I think it is the way to go... but watching bad Phantom footage, I get scared of going all in and getting a setup like this. What is your take on this? Where can I get the cheapest setup? I have an LA address where I can get the stuff shipped to, and then take it to Mexico from there. Please share any experiences you might have had with this...

Thanks!!!
Otto

I know the other guys will offer up some great advise in addition to this. "Snake River Prototyping" has a product called a Blurfix adapter, that will attach to the waterproof housing of the GoPro, and Marumi ND4X, or ND8X filter, to help reduce jello, by slowing down the shutter in bright light. I would think it get's pretty bright in Mexico.
They also have a Mini Blurfix adapter that will attach directly to the GoPro so you could use it with a gimbal, such as the one that will soon be available from DJI.