Noob here who needs advice

Reaction score
For my birthday yesterday, my dad got me two drones. One was a DJI Phantom, and the other was a palm sized Nano QX Blade. According to my dad (Who has 0 experience with anything of this sorts), I should fly the Nano for a month before I can even take the Phantom out of the box.

Is he right? Should I do this? Or would it be fine if I went ahead and started flying the Phantom? If it helps, I've flown the Nano a ton in the 24 hours since I've gotten it.

I'm 14, living with him part time. I should have pointed out that the "training drone" thing was just a suggestion by him.

:D
Welcome to the forum.

Your dad is very generous for your birthday. You should listen to his advice. It would be embarrassing to crash or lose your Phantom the first month.

Also, spend some time with YouTube tutorials and this forum. Then you will know how your bird works, and make your dad trust you enough to give you the keys to the car one day!

MHL

GeneralKitFisto said:
I'm 14, living with him part time. I should have pointed out that the "training drone" thing was just a suggestion by him.

That is great advice by dad and it will not take you more than a week or so (about 10 hrs flight time I think) to master the "nano". Once you have that down, then break open the Phantom and make sure you follow the directions and the advice of seasoned posters on this board (those guys/ladies with 200+ posts usually have good advice).

I did the same thing, flew a little Hubsan around inside my house until I mastered it, it's a lot harder to fly than a Phantom because there is not as much control help (GPS, compass, etc). I got to the point that I could land it in a controlled manner on the blade of my ceiling fans in my house, so I knew I was ready at that point.

Have fun, kid. Your Dad hooked you up!

Solid advice from your dad. Although, a month may be overkill.