noob FPV question- is it easy to swap back and forth?

Reaction score
Once you set up for FPV is it easy to swap back to normal? I can see several situations were I would want to fly in one mode or the other. Is it easy to swap back and forth?

I am a noob on this and want to plan to do this right the first time.

Tell us a little more about your set up. Or are you asking prior to buying an FPV set up?

I am asking prior to buying any FPV items. My present rig is a P3P with an IPAD 4 mini. I would love to go FPV on occation too.

Ok I'll drop this on you gently :) if you have a P3P and an iPad you already have the ability to see First Person View (FPV)

Last edited:
Maybe I am not sure what you guys are calling FPV or otherwise. I was thinking it is wearing the goggles and bflying with it up in my face. Can you perhaps elaborate on your responce?

Ah so your looking for FPV goggles instead of looking at a screen correct?

Maybe I am not sure what you guys are calling FPV or otherwise. I was thinking it is wearing the goggles and bflying with it up in my face. Can you perhaps elaborate on your responce?

FPV = First Person View IE flying it via video image as if you are in the craft.

That is the FPV that most are referring to.

I think you want or are looking to do full immersion via googles/ headset!

start with googling: FPV headset, fpv goggles, fpv monitors etc. for some background info

good luck and have fun flying!

I've no experience of using goggles but as they have built in receiver you should be able to receive on these and the iPad at the same time. However the P3P uses 2.4ghz for control and for FPV so the antennas are larger than for the normal 5.8ghz. Also as the p3p uses the same 2.4ghz for both control and FPV they use a mimo receiver to separate the signal. I don't know if that would affect the use of goggles. Hopefully someone with experience of this type of set up will be along soon to advise