Reaction score
Hi fellow enthusiasts I writing to you from Oman in the middle east;

I am a newbie and wanted to do a bit of research and get first hand experience from the people the who are already using the DJI Phantom.

I am interested in getting a DJI Phantom and I managed to convince my place of work to get one as well so that they can shoot special events etc. I have a few questions:

1. From the videos I saw it looks very easy and fun to fly, is this the case in reality for someone who has very little experience in RC flight.

2. How do you communicate with the GoPro camera on the Phantom is in flight, do you need to start recording before it leaves the ground, how do u switch from video to photo when the Phantom is in flight.

3. To get rid of jello effects are there any after market props that can be used for smooth flight.

4. Is the phantom able to carry any other high end camera; is there a holder for things like canon and Nikon DSLRs.

I apologize if these questions have been asked before, I look forward to learning from you and enjoying myself

Welcome to the forum... a lot of these questions can be answered by searching the forum with the search function but I will give them a quick stab:

1) Yes... in GPS mode you get all the help you need and it virtually flys itself. Flying takes a sensible couple of hours flight time to get reasonable. Filming, panning around (yaw) and getting great shots takes a lot more practice. Best done in open space with a single object (of low value) to pan round and test.