Newbie!

Reaction score
Hi folks, I am totally new to drones. I acquired a used (all complete in box) DJI Phantom 3 Standard. I tested that it worked only in my apartment as I am in a controlled area, (Feather Sound) with St. Petersburg airport just a mile from me. On Christmas Day I decided to find a place to test it out. When I did one of the rotors was not working. All had done since it worked last was but and connect rotor guards to it. I now realize that I damaged the motor by choosing the wrong screw initially. The guards came with two different lengths, and of course I chose the longer one! Anyway I have a new motor coming on Thursday and I’m going to attempt to mount it myself. Anyway, just a warning. If you do mount rotor guards, don’t make the same mistake I did!

BTW, can anybody recommend a safe “legal” place where I can practice with my drone? Thanks for any advice!

Mark

Reactions: GFields
Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching
and stay safe.. 👍

Reactions: GFields
Welcome. Suggest you take the FAA Trust exam, register the bird, as well as download the B4UFly app to see if it's kosher to fly at a particular destination.

Thank you for your reply, Yes I have taken those steps. I understand the “controlled vs uncontrolled”, just not sure about flying certain parks etc. Also not quite sure about “following the safety guidelines of a CBO”…do I need join a club in order to do that. Again, I appreciate any advice!

Thanks
Mark