Newbie Woes

Reaction score
Mark Picard wrote:
A newbie here - I just got my Phantom with the H3-2D Zenmuse Gimbal as a Christmas gift that came all assembled as a upgraded kit from B&H. In the kit was a FPV monitor (4" ToteVision model LCD410). It came with audio and video cables, but nothing else. I have no idea what, or how, I'm supposed to hook this up electronically to make the monitor "see" what the camer's seeing.. What additional parts will I need to make this monitor work? Help!

Quote: Mark, are you sure the only thing they installed in/on the Phantom was the Zenmuse? They may have installed an FPV transmitter on the aircraft. If not, you'll need that in addition to a receiver on the ground end to connect to the monitor. The video output from the camera will then be broadcast over that setup for you to watch on the monitor.
Was the 4" monitor on the list of accessories in the bundle you ordered? It does seem weird they'd include that but no FPV Transmitter/Revceiver.

Turns out I did get the transmitter/receiver and the transmitter is indeed installed on the copter. I also have the receiver. But other than the parts, I have no idea how to correctly wire the receiver (both transmitter and receiver have their own antennas too) to the monitor. The monitor has it's own battery pack. Does the receiver get it's power from the monitor once they're connected? In the box were a few wiring setups and I assume one of them is the correct one. It also came with a adapter to switch one of the wires to an RCA end? Again, I'm not an electronics person, and basically am flying blind here! Unfortunately there is no instruction/wiring manual with this kit. Thanks again!