Newbie technical quiestions

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am new in Phantom and I got Vision 2+. I want to extend my range so I have to ask some questions to ensure.
1. What a antenna wire are in legs? Vision or controll?
2. My range extender has one 9dBi antenna (I bought with this modification), do I need second antenna? Because this extender has two inside.
3. What's difference between antenna arrangement? I mean
xIZvLu4.png

4. Where is controll antenna inside drone?

Thanks.

Hello,
I can answer most of your questions,
If I understand you correctly! :)

1) the 2 antennas in the legs of your craft are you RECEIVER antennas ( control antennas )
These antennas receive transmission from your Tx ( these have nothing to do with vision or FPV )

2) range extender does have 2 ports, choice here is yours, some run single antenna mod, while keeping 1 stock, as others mod BOTH antennas, you'll have to play around with different antennas, and orientation, to achieve the best range. FPVLR offers a wide array of antenna mods, a bit pricey, but they do work!

3) the antenna arrangement, basically, you want your antenna to be parallel to craft ( in other words long side facing craft ) NEVER pointing straight at craft ( you antenna receives the band waves from the sides NOT the tip, ie: if your flying high, you'll want to bend your antenna to the side for better reception.

4) control antennas are on legs and external, wifi antennas are inside your bird, just under main circuit board, one on each side!

Hope this helps!
Take care, Fly safe!
J Dot

Thanks for answer!
Lets assume that I want to replace controller antenna. Does it matter which one I choose? 2.4GHz or 5GHz which controller has?

Reactions: J Dot
All your control functions are 5.8Ghz
All your video feed is 2.4Ghz