Newbie SOS: Rewiring a connector

Reaction score
I have no experience with fixing electronic problems, so I need a pointer.

I had a "small" accident today. Flew around a while, had to pause for a moment so switched to GPS mode and the phantom decided to make it's own mind about where to go, moved hard right for about 15 meters and the cut it's engines at 30m or so high and hit the ground pretty hard.

Luckily there was only a small amount of damage. One of the power supply connectors was torn off, so once I learn to solder I can fix that.

What I don't know how to fix myself is a small wire that came out of the 4 pin plug that goes into the NAZA from the LED. Is anyone able to point me in the direction of a youtube guide that shows how this works? My guess is that it somehow pops open and I can reinsert it.

What I'm hoping is that I don't have to get a new connector to the LED that I have to resolder to the LED PCB.

Many thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer.

It sound's like you're saying one of the pins pulled out of the connector that plugs in to the NAZA (from the LED), correct? If that's the case, you might be able to pop the pin back in the connector, but odds are the little plastic piece that keeps it in there is broken. It's fairly simple to just pop the other two pins out and replace the plastic plug housing and then pop them in the new one...it just takes a small (tiny) flat-blade screwdriver and a steady-ish hand. Much easier if you don't know how to solder yet. The replacement plastic plug can be cannibalized off another unused cable, either one you have now or purchase for a few cents from any of the many suppliers who carry them.

Thank you OI Photography.

I spent a good while googling how to do this, and ofcourse sods law dictates that straight after I decided to ask for help I found this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHayL9ya2a8 which shows how to fix a JST.