Newbie needs bigger drone for stills w/ SLR

Reaction score
I've been a professional commercial photographer for 15+ years, including aerial photography from planes and choppers, and want to get into photography with a drone. I am very obsessive about image quality, so want to use a lightweight SLR like my Nikon D7000, or perhaps try one of the Fuji X series.

So I am figuring I will need a larger DJI like the 450 Firewheel to handle that weight. I assume I would also need (forgive me if I use the wrong terminology):

Gimbal to allow me to remotely rotate and tilt the camera;

Video transmitter so I can see a live view from back on Earth. This can be very low-res. I just need it for general aiming;

Video screen to view on;

A method to control the flight of the copter, the aiming of the gimbal, and the operation of the camera shutter;

A bucket to catch my tears when I smash the thing into smithereens.

What have I forgotten?

So obviously I'm pretty lost, and would really appreciate any general notes and thoughts and ideas on how I should proceed.

The Fuji camera and lens is 525g, the Nikon 1200g.

If I can get by with a smaller/cheaper platform, that would be great. I picked the Flame Wheel almost at random. I don't need a lot of flight time (assuming I can change batteries) or range (300-500 feet).

Any help would be really appreciated!

Thanks!

David

If you want to lift an SLR or a m4/3 with a gimbal you will need a craft bigger than an F450.
I shoot stills with a Sony NEX5 and I use an S800 EVO to lift it and get decent flight time (10 minutes ish)

Theoretically you could lift a 500g camera with an F550 hex but once you add a gimbal you'll be overweight. A 1200g SLR is right out. Even the S800 would be overweight once a gimbal is added.