Newbie, need advice.

Reaction score
Hi everybody, I'm new to the DJI Phantom. Just bought one after looking around here for a while. Now I have read the manual that it came with and have assemble the Phantom, batteries are charged, but in the video's it says, make sure throttle is closed! My controller has both stick centred, with springs to keeping them centred! Is this something new or is my controller faulty.

The other thing is in the paper manual, it tells me to connect the Phantom to a pc, to the Assistant software for IMU calibration, to check if the firmware is upto date, I don't have a PC, I only have a MacBook, will it work with a Mac? Also is the software that I need, the "Nazareth-M Assistant software V2.16 ?

Look forward to your replies.
Many thanks.

Throttle stick spring is normal for the newer versions of the Phantom.

The software only works with Windows. A pain as I'm also a Mac user. I have a Windows virtual machine in VMWare Fusion purely for dealing with the Naza.

Thanks rilot for quick reply, so can I skip the firmware update part for now?

The other question I wanted to check was, the two switches either side of the antenna, for first flight what position should they be in?

Left switch- off/CL/HL

Right switch- GPS/ATTI/ATTI

Sorry, just being cautious for first flight. :oops:

Left CL: Course Lock. When GPS loccked if you activate CL you can Pull right stick and the phantom will come right to the take off point.
Left HL: Home Lock. When GPS loccked if you activate HL you can Pull right stick and the phantom will come right to the take off point and keep flying in a circle around it.

In both CL / HL only works if GPSlocked 6 or more satellites.

Right GPS mode will stabilize and keep position if GPS locked. In ATTI mode no position stays and you must correct position with sticks. In 3th position, right control can be programed via Naza Assistant for activate Manual Mode (not suggested for newbies) or RTH for returning home safe mode.