Newbie Checking In

Reaction score
Hey all,

Newbie checking in here. Just ordered my first Phantom yesterday on Amazon - should be here tomorrow (Amazon Prime rules). I am more than excited.

A little background on me, I'm an IT Service Desk Manager for a living and love it. Been flying/driving/crashing anything remote control since I was a kid and just recently got back into flying. Started back with a little Syma S107G for $19 on Amazon. Once I got my wings back I moved up to a UDI U818A w/camera and was obsessed with trying to get cool aerial shots. Got quite proficient with that and finally made the plunge on the Phantom 2 Non-Vision. No gimbal or GoPro - just too expensive for me right now. I want to get absolutely proficient with the rig itself before I start adding anything to it. I find the physics behind flying these things and how even the littlest draft or environmental change can completely change the experience to be one of the coolest aspects.

In a few days I'll be signing up for UVU's UAV Pilot Training (http://www.uxvuniversity.com). I've read mostly good things about it aside from some bashing that manned aircraft pilots have posted. Not looking for anything crazy structured and obviously not backed by the FAA or anything. I consider it a good foot in the door and also a chance to fly the DJI S800 and Hubsan SpyHawk which will be my first true FPV experience.

As for me personally, I am no newb to forums as I've been on them for going on 10 years now and have been a mod on other sites for around six years or so now. Each place operates differently and I absolutely still consider myself a newbie when it comes to PhantomPilots and the Phantoms themselves.

Anyway, I'll leave it at that. I look forward to getting to know everybody and learning more about these things. If there is anybody active in the Southeast, specifically the Central Florida area, please post up and maybe we can schedule a get together at some point.

Cheers!

Fink
i-LgFpTrs-M.gif