Newbie buying Phantom 3 on eBay

Reaction score
Hello,

After drooling over the thought of owning a quadcopter I finally took the plunge yesterday and bought one of these : http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/221825475322 It's due to arrive tomorrow.

I heard from the vendor today however that it's a brand new US spec boxed item and they are supplying a UK plug for the charger.

Should I send it back and buy from somewhere in the UK? I'm just beginning to read about some of the bad things that can happen with this amazing quadcopter and I really regret stumbling on talk of "flyaways" and having to provide proof of purchase in the event of an RMA if things need repairing. Would it be ok to send them the invoice from the ebayer? They are listed as a registered business on the site.

Obviously hoping nothing does go wrong! Any advice would be appreciated.

Stop panicking and just get it and fly it... everything will be fine.. and if there is a problem.... the warranty is with DJI in the case of a issue of some sort
Your warranty starts when you register the quad in the initial stages of setting up

Worrying about what might be.... will drive you nuts thousands apon thousands of P3 are flying with no issues at all

Thanks Mikee that was exactly what I was hoping to hear. There are so many posts all over the net saying do this and don't do that, it's hard not to read a little too much in to it. Fully intending on spending plenty of time learning all the controls before I fly but that's about it. Cheers

If the dealer you are paying is listed on the DJI site as authorized then you're OK.
(In fairness, it does seem that not all authorized dealers are currently listed...)

With regard to the horror stories you may have read or heard I recommend that you check your FW version which will probably be 1.1.9 on the air-frame and 1.1.2 on your controller.

DO NOT update the firmware on either !!!