Newbee scared to fly, need a confidence boost

Reaction score
As stated in the header, I'm a newbie. I got my P3A just after the holiday. I read all the manuals 2-3 times cover to cover. I went out for my maiden voyage and immediately had my first oops. Gone was my first set of props. I forgot one of the basics, know your orientation of the copter. I pulled left and it went right. Right into a fence 20 yards away. So now I come across this site and see all the horror stories and I am scared to fly. How about some good stories to give me some confidence.
Thanks.

I recommend that you play around with the simulator for a bit

You don't need good stories, you need patience/practice/experience.

How about play with the simulator for a bit???

p3 is rock solid, dont worry.
you just need to practice in a wide open area, no trees/buildings near in order to gain confidence. dont try to break the distance or height record in your first 15 flights ;-)

2016-01-19 12.20.04.png

89 km in 64 flights, p3 is rock solid!

Reactions: Darmie
I've have had a small army of mini quads and this little gem (pictured below) cost me $25 on sale...I have crashed it a thousand times and even put it in the reef aquarium one day where it sat for ten minutes before I was able to recovered it, dried it off and flew it again an hour later. In short, buy yourself one of these and learn to actually fly, it will boost your confidence and you will be a better/safer pilot in turn!

CFF6DF29-1696-4675-916F-315F2D497AB7_zpsuqpjjwam.jpg

Reactions: snowghost
Go fly in a big field with the bird facing away from you. Practice flying in a box by only maneuvering with the left stick. Clockwise and then counter clockwise. After you've got that down, fly a circle–without changing the orientation with the left stick.

T

Reactions: Shaba
I worked my way up from a mini like pictured above to a syma x5c to a syma x8g. It's just the multitude of flight modes and waypoints and such that are overwhelming me.