New user pilot error

Reaction score
As a new pilot I am am having problems getting consistant flights. I am sure I am doing something wrong but what? One flight will go great. Nice hover, left and right, up and down, good control. Next flight a few hours later Phantom will just tip over on takeoff or jump 20 feet into the sky and takeoff on its own tour, not much control. Very light wind. I reset the compass, it flew OK then next time erratic. There is snow here so could it be the compass connector got wet?

It just takes time and experience. (I'm still learning as well, crashed into a tree and damaged my Phantom real bad last night)

you'll def want to fly in GPS mode to get the hang of things, practice going up, down, ..etc (zooming 20ft is def extreme!)
then gradually try switching to ATTI in-flight. (and avoid playing around with IOC until you've gotten the hang of the other modes)

Are you getting a solid slow green blink prior to takeoff? (that indicates a solid GPS signal)

If you're seeing multiple fast green blinks, that indicates gyro needs calibration, you'll want to connect the Phantom to your computer and run some basic or advanced calibration. (it's pretty easy)

Gizmo3000 said:
It just takes time and experience. (I'm still learning as well, crashed into a tree and damaged my Phantom real bad last night)

you'll def want to fly in GPS mode to get the hang of things, practice going up, down, ..etc (zooming 20ft is def extreme!)
then gradually try switching to ATTI in-flight. (and avoid playing around with IOC until you've gotten the hang of the other modes)

Are you getting a solid slow green blink prior to takeoff? (that indicates a solid GPS signal)

If you're seeing multiple fast green blinks, that indicates gyro needs calibration, you'll want to connect the Phantom to your computer and run some basic or advanced calibration. (it's pretty easy)