New to phantoms

Reaction score
Hey All!!!

I'm new to this hobby & have a question as to which option would be the best for me. I currently have a phantom 1 & the most basic gopro. I'm looking to try and be able to stream the footage from my camera to my phone or some other device. I know I cant do this with the current gopro so my question to you guys is. Should I be looking into another camera?(if so which ones?) Is there a device that will allow a gopro to not interfere with the signal from my controller? Or should I be looking into the phantom 2 vision? Thanks All!!!

honestly Phantom 2's are a better point to enter the hobby (although not necessarily the Vision series) from the perspective of, it's a bit easier to add good, long range FPV to a P2 than a P1. (imo)

this gopro/phantom interference you refer to, I'll explain it: your RC control happens in the 2.4ghz frequency range which it just so happens wifi runs on similar frequencies, so if you turn the gopro's wifi on, it can interfere with your RC control signal.

The solution to this is to add FPV that broadcasts in the 5.8ghz range... so basically you take a video-out feed from the gopro and pipe it into a 5.8ghz FPV transmitter like the ImmersionRC 600mW, or Boscam TS353.
Since you're on a Phantom 1, there is not a plug and play cable that I'm aware of, so you'll have to make them yourself I think.
video signal is easy, just get a usb-out for the gopro and then patch the wires to the video-in (and video-ground) input into the transmitter.

What I don't know anything about is where on a Phantom 1 you'll pick up POWER for the video transmitter, someone else will have to tell you or I'm sure there are youtube videos

Phantom 2 VISION series flip everything around, run the RC control on 5.8Ghz so it can use a 2.4ghz wifi signal for the app, at the cost of range. it doesn't go very far unless you drop several hundred more dollars on antenna upgrade kits.