New to Phantom: any Advice?

Reaction score
Hey guys!

So I've been building and flying 250 sized quads for a while, but really wanted a stable, High quality platform for aerial photography and just the general fun.

I did my research, comparing this to the 3DR solo and a few other contenders but in the end DJI won out.

Just ordered a Phantom 3 Professional with hard case and extra battery, two sets of props, and a set of prop guards.

What do you think? Any advice for a 250 sized pilot transitioning to a DJI Phantom? Tips for setup?

(And yes, I am also a private pilot ;) )

The right choice.. The right time..

Welcome to the forum!

Thanks! Really looking forward to this. I've been browsing here for a week or so, reading up on common mistakes.

All the calibration stuff is pretty overwhelming.... On my 250 it's just power on and fly!

Cancel the prop guards. If you have any RC experience you won't need those, only encumbering the flights.

I was going to get some, in the beginning of my wonderful DJI Experience, but soon realized I have no need or use for them. These new Phantom 3 Pro's when operating correctly, are so very stable and proficient in the air.
I suppose, if you really feel the need, get the clip on style, and save yourself some headaches down the road. Is the hard case you ordered big enough for rotor props attached and prop guards?

Suggest buying a couple spare batteries, you will eventually want them.

RedHotPoker

Cancel the prop guards. If you have any RC experience you won't need those, only encumbering the flights.

I was going to get some, in the beginning of my wonderful DJI Experience, but soon realized I have no need or use for them.
I suppose, if you really feel the need, get the clip on style, and save yourself some headaches down the road. Is the hard case you ordered big enough for rotor props attached and prop guards?
These new Phantom 3 Pro's when operating correctly, are so very stable and proficient in the air.

RedHotPoker