New Phantom 3 Pro failed to RTH

Reaction score
Hi all

I am new to the so please be nice. I purchased the Phantom 3 Pro last week whilst in the US (I live in the UK). I have had a few practice flights in my local park and have successfully taken off, flow and landed (and got some great shots already). Yesterday I took it to my parents to show off and the drone announced a 'critically low power' and the screen went black about 40 seconds after takeoff. I started to panic, however hit the RTH button. The drone did not RTH. It landed 1km away in a tree. Fortunately I was able to retrieve it using the GPS on my phone, and the drone suffered just a few scratches (and luckily didn't harm the camera or anyone nearby).

I am concerned why the RTH did not work. I have just taken the drone back to the park and hitting the RTH simply lands the drone, however I am aware that if you are within 20m, it simply lands as opposed to RTH. What I don't get was why yesterday, it decided to land rather than RTH when at such a distance away. To be precise it was 360m away, and I can see from the log that RTH was initiated however it then landed almost immediately.

Any advice would be much appreciated. I am worried it could be a fault, but hoping to be proved wrong.

Thank you
David

David,
Firstly, welcome to the forum and Phantom 3 family.
Please Excuse me, if I should sound or seem harsh, but this is a serious situation. Before you took off, had you done a cold IMU calibration, and a good compass calibration? Also, did it say Home Point has been Updated, Please Check it on the map. These are very important steps that teach the drone where to return, to its home point. If this and the other important parameters aren't set correctly, as established right up front. Well disastrous and varied result may and will, occur. Consider yourself lucky it wasn't damaged further, or had resulted in a fly away, often never to be found.
Am I mistaken? and If so, my apology.

RedHotPoker