new Phantom 2 initial config quedtions

Reaction score
Good morning or it may be good afternoon depending on where you are

Im a complete newbie so please do excuse me if this has been asked in other posts, I wasn't able to find them.

I unpacked my phantom 2 (non-vision) yesterday and love how it looks but I have a few questions

1. Does the phantom come with the latest version of firmware? Would I need to update?
2. I didn't realise the phantom could fly in 2 modes? Phantom mode and naza-m mode?Is the phantom shipped in phantom mode as standard?
3. Do I need to configure the S1 and S2 switches prior to flying? I really want the RTH function working
4. Is the IOC function enabled or does it need to be enabled? Assigned to the S2 switch?
5. Is the phantom 2 vision the same as the phantom 2 (non-vision)

Apologies for all the newbie questions but I really don't want to lose or mess up this phantom

Thanks in advance

ali_shaikh22 said:
Good morning or it may be good afternoon depending on where you are

Im a complete newbie so please do excuse me if this has been asked in other posts, I wasn't able to find them.

I unpacked my phantom 2 (non-vision) yesterday and love how it looks but I have a few questions

1. Does the phantom come with the latest version of firmware? Would I need to update?
The latest firmware was released a few days ago so unlikely yours would have 3.04 already.

2. I didn't realise the phantom could fly in 2 modes? Phantom mode and naza-m mode?Is the phantom shipped in phantom mode as standard?
Correct shipped in Phantom mode.

3. Do I need to configure the S1 and S2 switches prior to flying? I really want the RTH function working
To configure the switches you need to switch into Naza mode.
You can still activate RTH in Phantom mode by turning off the controller. I prefer to have RTH assigned to S1 when in Naza mode.

4. Is the IOC function enabled or does it need to be enabled? Assigned to the S2 switch?