New Phantom 1 owner ...Should I get Carbon Props?

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie to all of this.

I have just got myself a DJI Phantom 1.1.1 a couple of days ago and I am loving it!

So my first question is... What is the best upgrade I can do please?

Are Carbon Fibre props a good upgrade or not?

Thanks

Reactions: dirkclod
OEM props are proven and are fine, the slight bend in the plastic will help absorb loads and reduce stress on your craft. I have over 2,000,000 feet and they look like new. The results using carbon props are mixed, why take a chance when the originals are good, IMO. For my first upgade I installed maxxuav clean install DBS2 antenna to improve range and it did just that.

Reactions: dirkclod
As Erised said and being new I would learn to fly it and see just how you do before I would do anything else .
If you mess up you are going to cut yourself with the carbon props as well as break one if you tilt over .
Small steps virdi and Welcome to the forum :)

What are you expecting from an upgrade? I have 3 P1s and they fly just fine. One is carrying a 3D gimbal and using a Multistar 4000ma battery so I have 9450 props on it. I only use DJI props. If you know how to fly and not crash will be your best upgrade. No real need to change something that works well.

I personally had no luck with CF blades. Probably user error, but on both flight attempts I lost 2 blades (4 total). Then I threw out the other 2 that were left over. I have some friends that tried CF's on their P2's and they said they had similar experiences.

I just finished flying my P1 and I probably crashed the last time I flew, so one of the blades was skimming the quad's dome as both sides flew by. I turn it off, grabbed the blades and pulled them up gently.

Spun her back up and she was as good as new - granted she did not stay perfectly in-spot... but those stock blades just keep on going.