New p3 owner Advice please

Reaction score
Hi everyone, well iv wanted one of these things for ages and decided to take the plunge and got a p3 advanced, it's being delivered on Tuesday, now I bought a hubsan x4 then moved on to a syma x5c, but I am by no means a pro, now I have a few questions,
First I have a Sony experia z2 is this going to work with my phantom has anyone here tried? I have downloaded the pilot app and had a bit of a play with th it just to get my head around it,

Also after reading so many things on here of people's phantoms flying away I thought of maybe buying a GPS tracker to put on it as you can buy them pretty cheap on the bay, but will they interfere with the units gps at all? And has anyone here ever tried it, the more and more I read things on here the more scared I'm getting about taking this thing out the box,
Many thanks
Ben

I have a Sony experia z2 is this going to work with my phantom
Yes. Here are some other commonly used devices:
Tablets and phones that work well with DJI Go & DJI Pilot | DJI Phantom Forum

I thought of maybe buying a GPS tracker
A GPS tracker is a great idea. It seems the P3 is not as prone to a fly-aways as the P2, but anything is possible. It's a relatively inexpensive way to protect your investment.

You can find a complete list of commonly used trackers here:
DJI Phantom Accessories & Tips - Phantom Help

The Trackimo GPS tracker is one of the more popular options. I have it installed on my Phantom -- and, it has been working well for me. It seems like one of the more expensive options, but it includes the first year of cell service. After you add the cell service to the cost of the other trackers, they are pretty close to the same price.

Last edited:
Thanks for your replies, is there anything else I should be aware of before I unbox this thing and take her up, should I update the firmware or leave it as it is out the box? Getting mixed feelings on this thanks