New member looking to get more range

Reaction score
I'm quiet new to quads and fpv as I have been flying helis for about 10 years in the uk but thought I'd try quads and I love them.
I bought my phantom v2+ about 4 months ago and have done about 20 flights with it but only close flying as it looses video feed and goes out of range.
I have just hooked it up to the PC to change settings and try and get more range and feed as I also want do fpv.
I've read on here that the fpv booster works for extended range.
I want to leave it stock, so what can I do to get good range and video feed

Thanks in advance

Hi cahutch
Thanks for replying
Without changing to FCC mode and changing nothing in the software I'm getting about 300 meters then it says out of range but I'm assuming that's because of the software settings

Look in the app store or playstore for wifi booster apps to increase your Phantom's wifi output.... then if you want more there are add on antennas you can add if you have basic skills in doing a few modifications... FPVLR is a big presence in this forum with add on antennas ... His thread is always on the front page... and FPV booster for wifi boost or Vision Plus Utility Pro app for a few more options and tweaks along with boost.

Phanton v2+ newbie said:
Many thanks DBS. What sort of range can I expect with these 2 apps on range and video feed
Thanks

It can be very difficult to give someone accurate range estimates, since we all fly in different altitudes and different environments. I can just say that before the booster I was getting about 8-900 feet in a dense urban environment (albeit a park). I then started using the booster, and got about 1300 feet away. After upgrading my antennas on FPVLR.com (and using the booster app), I am up to about 2-3000 feet in that same environment. You may be in more of a rural area, or a flat area, if so, you can expect greater distance.

Thanks side box.
What antenna upgrades did you use for that.