Need some Advice for which Phantom to buy

Reaction score
Hi, I'm completely new to flying drones. But I love RC's,especially cars. Now, I'm looking to expand into drones because they look like tones of fun. I'm not a professional videographer, photographer or anything like that.

I'm looking into getting either the Standard or Advanced, 1080p camera is good enough for my purposes, I was just considering the advanced because I like the idea of going far into the sea and taking videos of ships and all that. My brain is telling me to get the standard since its cheaper and I'm a beginner. Although, my gut is telling me to get the advanced since it will be more fun in the long run.

1. Can anyone tell me more about these two and will the extra distance really be more fun?
2. Can the standard go beyond the 500 meter limit or is that it?

Thanks guys

Do not be cheap. Get pro. 1. Charger 2. Zoom (from 4k to HD)

And yes both can go over 500 meters. Just send your P3 as far as possible, go up 500 meters, press "go Home", push the left stick up. You can get to 800 meters easily.

Do not be cheap. Get pro. 1. Charger 2. Zoom (from 4k to HD)

And yes both can go over 500 meters. Just send your P3 as far as possible, go up 500 meters, press "go Home", push the left stick up. You can get to 800 meters easily.

Thanks for the reply. I wish I could spend all I want but I'm a college student. Got a Budget. That's actually the main reason for my post.

Welcome! There are a bunch of really smart helpful people here to help!

The standard will go further in optimal conditions especially at sea... But you'll be lucky to get 500 m in town or in the woods. Do you really want to be limited. By where you go? There are many who have spent a boat load more $ modding the P3S to double the range for about $200-300 but at that point you've just bought a P3P.