Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Need help

Discussion in 'Standard' started by JLS, Aug 31, 2018.

  1. JLS

    JLS

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't used my Phantom 3 standard for a long time. The battery seemed like it charged up but when I put it into the Phantom 3 and push the power button, the four green bars light up and then it goes blank. The Phantom doesn't start up. When I hold the button for five seconds, one light flashes and the others are solid and then goes blank again. Is it the battery? If you think it's the battery, any suggestions on where to get a new one?
    Thanks
     
  2. teccer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    SW UK
    you do remember that you have to press and press again a second later to start?
     
    ROD PAINTER and Oso like this.
  3. Fly Dawg

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3,032
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    Location:
    Watkinsville, Georgia
    Sounds like you have forgotten the startup procedure. One press, gives you the above quote. Another 2 second press and hold will turn the battery on.
     
  4. ROD PAINTER

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    163
    Did you leave the battery go completely dead or did you keep it charged at around 50%? I buy my batteries at Best Buy. They are on sale now for $118.00
     
  5. JLS

    JLS

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry guys.....You were correct. I forgot the startup procedure. Thanks for the reminder....Now to see if I can get the old girl to fly again...
     
  6. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    3,938
    Likes Received:
    2,664
    Location:
    Western US
    No worries. You'd be surprised how often we get the exact same question asked when someone has not used their Phantom in a while. We basically know the problem the moment we read the posts. :)

    I suggest that you check it all out to be sure that everything works well BEFORE changing any firmware should you make that choice. Also, make note of the FW versions currently on your AC and RC. Often times the "battery wont power up" posts are followed up with "I updated FW and now it doesn't work at all," and then, "I have no idea what FW versions I had before."

    Good luck!
     
    RodPad likes this.
  7. The Foreigner

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    I hope I may join this thread: I need help as well. I am the owner of a Phantom 3 standard; as of now I have downloaded my videos from the camera taking the card and inserting it in my laptop. But there is the possibility of doing it just connecting the drone to the laptop through a cable. My question is: is the cable the same I use to charge the battery of the remote control or is a different one? Thanks for the help.
     
  8. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,203
    Likes Received:
    941
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    @The Foreigner,
    Welcome to the Forum!

    Looks like the thread has finished, so I guess your not hijacking it.

    "My question is: is the cable the same I use to charge the battery of the remote control or is a different one?"

    Does the cable fit? :) If it does then give it a try. :rolleyes:
    Sorry, actually just messing with you....

    I use the cable method because the SD card is so frekon small and my hands are to big, etc.
    Plug the cable into the port near the camera and power up the Phantom and it should show up as a external drive.

    My files take about 5 mins or less.

    Large files can take a long time to download, many here say just do what your already doing.
    Keep in mind leaving your Phantom powered up and not flying for a long time it can get very hot.

    The other port on the Phantom is on the front below the model tag and that's where you would download flight data from the internal SD card.

    Rod
     
  9. The Foreigner

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks Rod for the welcome and for the information. I watched a tutorial on youtube and the guy used a data cable that seemed exactly alike to mine on both ends, the small and the large. I did not want to try it for fear of damaging the drone or the laptop with an inappropriate connection: I just wanted to be sure that the cable is suitable for data transfer. Thanks, Nino
     
    RodPad likes this.
  10. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,203
    Likes Received:
    941
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
  11. JLS

    JLS

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am back.....the P3S flew just fine...everything seems to work except I get no image transmission. Any thoughts or help with that?
     
  12. The Foreigner

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    RodPad likes this.
  13. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,203
    Likes Received:
    941
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Really, crap, do you get telemetry?

    Rod
     
  14. JLS

    JLS

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes....I am able to move the camera up and down.....just no image.
     
  15. JLS

    JLS

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Rod. Thanks for your concern. I tried putting a different card into the P3S and moved away from my building. I don't know which one worked, but everything seems to be working fine now.....
     

    Attached Files:

  16. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,203
    Likes Received:
    941
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I bet the SD card. When you format the cards, I prefer them being in the phantom.

    thumb-up-terminator pablo M R.jpg

    Rod
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Need help Forum Date
New guy, need a lil help please Pro/Adv Discussion Sep 19, 2018
Help needed for my Tx Off Topic Sep 19, 2018
Need Help Please!, Massive lag time between Controler and PP4 Phantom 4 Pro Help Sep 12, 2018
Need Help - Signal booster choice Standard Sep 4, 2018
Firmware update** need help Pro/Adv Discussion Sep 1, 2018