Need help upgrading/modding.

Reaction score
Looking to upgrade my Phantom 2 vision+, I'm new to this and need direction with mods.

I need for the range to be longer, I know there is a app to boost the wifi extender, do I have to boost the remote also? Can I use pigtails out of the wifi extender and use a really good wifi antennas? I want this to be practical and still portable, capable of connecting to the controller.

Also I need longer battery life, is there more efficient batteries I can buy? is it worth getting a mod to carry a second battery or is the extra weight even out the battery gain?

Is there anything I can do to make the camera better quality, or perhaps a better camera can be attached? would love to see a mod where someone connects a smartphone camera like a Lumia 1020 41MP cam or a Note 3 4k video cam.

I know what I want, just not what to get and where.

Thanks for the help.

DFdigital said:
Looking to upgrade my Phantom 2 vision+, I'm new to this and need direction with mods.

I need for the range to be longer, I know there is a app to boost the wifi extender, do I have to boost the remote also? Can I use pigtails out of the wifi extender and use a really good wifi antennas? I want this to be practical and still portable, capable of connecting to the controller.
A quick search of the forum will lead you to many antenna mods.

DFdigital said:
Also I need longer battery life, is there more efficient batteries I can buy? is it worth getting a mod to carry a second battery or is the extra weight even out the battery gain?
No. There are no better batteries available. Cheaper, maybe. Better, No. The Phantom flight time is longer than most anything available now. Adding more batteries won't help. Best case you might get another minute or two.
DFdigital said:
Is there anything I can do to make the camera better quality, or perhaps a better camera can be attached?