National Park Fire

Reaction score
So I get to work this morning and call our wrecking yard to let them know that I had flown over the yard and got some video. Nothing spectacular but we wanted to see what the yard looked like from a couple hundred feet. They proceed to tell me that the National Park is looking for somebody who was flying their drone close to the forest fire they are fighting. They had to ground their helicopters because of it.

It pisses me off. I went on a rant to my boss about how horrible it is that these people are going to ruin it for the rest of us who are responsible. It plays into the stereotype that those with drones make it unsafe for the rest of society. I'm a new drone pilot and honestly before I got this Phantom 4 I had no clue what was going on in the drone community. But even now I am taking this personally.

I've looked around on FB to see if I could find anybody posting videos/photos close to the fire but haven't found much. I did find one photo that makes me a bit suspicious. Not sure who to contact though.

Some people can be very reckless, and dont care about the common good of others. And what happens to all the good people that want to help the world and enjoy flying. or it was just some kid that thought he was amazing flying his drone over a fire, "going to be a youtube star".

Some people can be very reckless, and dont care about the common good of others. And what happens to all the good people that want to help the world and enjoy flying. or it was just some kid that thought he was amazing flying his drone over a fire, "going to be a youtube star".