My 2+ was laid to rest in the Ohio River... :(

Reaction score
So like most weekends on the river, I often fly my 2+ as we float and boat. I have done it all summer long. This passed Saturday though was the last time. I turned everything on as I always had. I was showing 93% battery. Took off and within 30 seconds my iPad was honking for low battery. I looked and it was showing 13% and the return to home pop-up was counting down to take over. I selected cancel and began to fly straight to me. 3-5 seconds later, about 30' in the air, it shut down and splashed into the river. For the record, they sure don't float for long! :( Never to be seen again..

Now I know that this is a risk of flying over water but would I just chalk this up to a bad battery? Any ideas? I've been flying for 2 years now and have never had an incident such as this. I have already ordered a new P3 and hope to have it by the end of the week.

I had a similar experience... after ~20 cycles on the three batteries I use (3), I followed recommendation of taking the voltage down to ~8% then recharging to 100%. I did this burn down in the back yard and hovered ~ 10 ft to accomplish this. I disabled RTH on low battery etc... Two batteries allowed me to land as planned. Third battery at ~20% got a overheat battery screen shot and it dropped like a rock!

I too was running 3 batteries. That particular battery was somewhere around 30 cycles I believe. I had done the run down to 8% deal some time ago. I have never had an issue with battery warnings prior to the incident.

I also ran 3 batteries and had one fall out of the sky at 31 cycles. ($300 repair) At $4 a cycle you should expect better than this. DJI will keep bending us over until something is done. Would be interesting to see the profit margin on battery's compared to other items. These are indeed smart batteries if you look at it from a profitability standpoint.