Music to vid,

In theory...no, because you're infringing their copyright. But on Youtube you'll often get away with it, and the copyright holder will moneytise it, which means that you will get ads appearing on your video. No big problem because you can click to close the ad.

Youtube will let you know if it's not acceptable.

Reactions: Wallyboy
I have just put a well known artists music to a vid I have made, is it ok to do this and publish say on you tube.

NO, not without permission!!! Except perhaps if it is for your own personal use, say in your own living room.

Another poster suggested you might get away with this and a lot of people do this, but it is unlawful. It is theft. The penalties for copyright infringement can be very stiff. I know. As a photographer I have sued people for stealing my work and they have paid dearly.

Make no mistake about it, when you use somebody else's copyrighted work without permission from the copyright holder or his/her authorized agent you are stealing. It's not only against the law, it's morally reprehensible. How would you like to work really, really hard, studying your craft for years, spending countless hours creating a piece, investing your money in tools, equipment or lessons, sweat equity etc. only to have somebody take the fruits of your labors and use it without your permission for whatever they wish? It's not a good feeling.