Motor speed issue--- Long post warning

Reaction score
Sorry for the long post but I want you all to have the complete information

I have been flying a Phantom 2 Vision for more than 8 months and decided to upgrade to a plus v3. I received it yesterday and after unboxing, I did what I call a “static test” to make sure that all the controls were working properly. On the desk I powered up my controller, wifi extender and then the model. I started the iphone software and everything looked fine. Then, with propellers off, I wanted to check to see if I may have the problem with the ESCs without taking the shell apart.
I accelerated the motors to full throttle (full speed ascent) and held the throttle open for about 10 seconds. I did not hear any problems at full speed and so I released the stick and it returned to the center position. . . unfortunately the engines remained at full rpm as if I hadn't released the stick. I throttled down with the stick and the engines slowed although they did not appear to slow to idle speed.

Prior to attempting any flights, I called DJI and they first said they never heard of that issue, but suggested I do a do firmware update on both the model and the transmitter.
Reluctantly I updated from 3.08 to 3.12 (which I guess, for better or worse, makes me an early adopter). Everything else was up to date. (RC controller firmware 1.2) They then instructed me to do an advanced IMU calibration. I successfully did so this morning.

There is fundamentally no change to the issue described above with one negative exception. Now, once I throttle back down to as slow as the engines will go, they will, independently, change speed as if attempting to correct for GPS altitude input. The model is inside on my desk but has communication between 7 and 10 satellites.