Maximum Range (Radius) and Altitude

Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
64
Reaction score
16
Age
70
Hi All
Finally took delivery of the new P4 (delayed because of attempted freight rip off by Helipal - but that's another story).
Spent a fair bit of time with the software which anyone would have to agree is pretty comprehensive. One surprise with the software, which was verified in actual flight, is the 500M limit imposed on both altitude and radius of flight. Sure enough when I took the bird across country it (figuratively) hit a wall at 500M and no further could I go!
I got a brief message on the screen which I think mentioned something about adjusting the limits somewhere.
So is there a work around to extend these limits! 500M is restrictive for some of the projects planned.
Would the same limits apply if using the (Litchie?) software that I've seen mentioned in these pages?
All comments/advice appreciated as always!
 
  • Like
Reactions: normr
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
64
Reaction score
16
Age
70
Great advice that can't be argued with! But really doesn't help with my question about range..
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2015
Messages
66
Reaction score
18
Age
56
You can adjust the limits in the DJI GO app. Have a look in the "Main Controller Settings" There is, in fact a vertical limit which is 500M. There is no work around for that. You are probably in beginners mode which, I believe, is on by default. As far as distance, you'll be able to set that to a distance of your choosing or turn it off completely and fly as far as conditions allow. These conditions include battery power available, radio signal strength, environment and winds to name a few. The specs say 3.1 miles which I have achieved and more. Reaching that distance is up for debate, however. I'd give the app a good look over and definitely read the manual. There is a wealth of information there. Here's a screen shot of what you're looking for.
ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1470309184.278812.jpg
 
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
541
Reaction score
192
Age
50
Location
Fort Collins, CO
Yeah, there is a setting in the DJI GO app do limiting distance - you can turn that off. My bird did not have that set upon delivery, but after the firmware update, I was surprised to discover I was limited to 50 feet. The altitude however you are limited and there is no setting tu dial that up.

NoCo Drones
 
Joined
Jun 23, 2016
Messages
865
Reaction score
534
Age
42
Location
Oregon
He's not in beginner mode.

To answer your question OP, yes, the setting you set for flight limitations will carry over to the Litchi app.
 
  • Like
Reactions: cfd701

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,235
Reaction score
10,414
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Carl1770, here's the setting you need to disable in DJI GO:

DJI-GO-Maximum-Distance.png
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
64
Reaction score
16
Age
70
Thanks so much guys. Yep, just unchecked the "enable max distance" button and the lateral distance limiting box disappeared. Just confused by the altitude box above which as you say is locked at 500M. I reckon that's going to be much less an issue than a 500M limit on distance! So back to the manual!
Because I live in a "bush" or forested area, I've invested in a Marco Polo Tracker, (after losing a P3!). I'm trialling a top mounted housing that I've made and it's working well so far. No prop or performance interference that I can tell and it sure offers a lot of peace of mind!
Thanks again all !
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 21, 2016
Messages
84
Reaction score
23
Location
Puerto Rico
Thanks so much guys. Yep, just unchecked the "enable max distance" button and the lateral distance limiting box disappeared. Just confused by the altitude box above which as you say is locked at 500M. I reckon that's going to be much less an issue than a 500M limit on distance! So back to the manual!
Because I live in a "bush" or forested area, I've invested in a Marco Polo Tracker, (after losing a P3!). I'm trialling a top mounted housing that I've made and it's working well so far. No prop or performance interference that I can tell and it sure offers a lot of peace of mind!
Thanks again all !
Take care to not obstruct your GPS with the housing and Tracker
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
447
Reaction score
157
Location
400 feet above you.
Thanks so much guys. Yep, just unchecked the "enable max distance" button and the lateral distance limiting box disappeared. Just confused by the altitude box above which as you say is locked at 500M. I reckon that's going to be much less an issue than a 500M limit on distance! So back to the manual!
Because I live in a "bush" or forested area, I've invested in a Marco Polo Tracker, (after losing a P3!). I'm trialling a top mounted housing that I've made and it's working well so far. No prop or performance interference that I can tell and it sure offers a lot of peace of mind!
Thanks again all !
Just so you know the 500m altitude limit is all you are going to get. You are not allowed to fly over 400 feet in the U.S. anyways , so I would advise not to test the limits unless you are far away from any airport.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2016
Messages
1,872
Reaction score
985
Location
Canada
I would not place the tracker on top of the P4 as the gps receivers for the quad are directly under the shell. You can get a carrier for your tracker on amazon that mounts using the screws that fasten the landing gear to the shell, no mod to you bird needed. I got mine at gimbal-guard.com
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2016
Messages
64
Reaction score
16
Age
70
Point taken. I've sent them a request for info. Thank you!
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Messages
170
Reaction score
61
Age
61
Thanks so much guys. Yep, just unchecked the "enable max distance" button and the lateral distance limiting box disappeared. Just confused by the altitude box above which as you say is locked at 500M. I reckon that's going to be much less an issue than a 500M limit on distance! So back to the manual!
Because I live in a "bush" or forested area, I've invested in a Marco Polo Tracker, (after losing a P3!). I'm trialling a top mounted housing that I've made and it's working well so far. No prop or performance interference that I can tell and it sure offers a lot of peace of mind!
Thanks again all !
As posted, the altitude limit for the P4 is a hard 500m. However the 400ft FAA limit is AGL. If you need the extra altitude to reach a mountain ridge or some such thing, it can be done. You need to build a hypobaric chamber to initialize your home point in. If you cannot take the bird to the altitude, bring the altitude to the bird. All you need is a vacuum pump and a chamber big enough to hold the bird with props spinning. I built a jerry rigged one using an upright vacuum cleaner as the pump and I got an extra 170m out of it.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: FlashBuddy
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
541
Reaction score
192
Age
50
Location
Fort Collins, CO
As posted, the altitude limit for the P4 is a hard 500m. However the 400ft FAA limit is AGL. If you need the extra altitude to reach a mountain ridge or some such thing, it can be done. You need to build a hypobaric chamber to initialize your home point in. If you cannot take the bird to the altitude, bring the altitude to the bird. All you need is a vacuum pump and a chamber big enough to hold the bird with props spinning. I built a jerry rigged one using an upright vacuum cleaner as the pump and I got an extra 170m out of it.
We should hang out.

NoCo Drones
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
138,479
Messages
1,429,951
Members
100,501
Latest member
yunior979