Max Battery Temps

Reaction score
My max battery temp after a long flight has been just over 111 degrees Fahrenheit. I am wondering if that is in line with what others are finding after a longer flight.

Reactions: eaglegoaltender
I'm no expert but from what I have learned with using these types of batteries in my work equipment, is LiPo batteries like to be warm - well hot really prior to use, 75'f - 90'f (roughly 25 - 30'c).

A max temperature for the Phantom LiPo type battery is in the range of 60'c (140''f) - beyond that and you will have issues.

Reactions: NotARubicon
Yes. Some so-called battery expert posted an informational thread 5-6 weeks ago and in the OP he was saying 140 F is the point where the battery will become dangerously volatile.

You didn't get a warning at 55 C? You'd think the firmware would give us a warning when the battery gets too hot. We get one when it's too cold... but I guess it's okay to let our aircraft blow up in the sky?

My hottest is 55c, in the Australian summer. When I first got the drone, that was extreme weather conditions on me and the drone.

Yikes that is extremely hot - I don't imagine you flew for a very long time at that temp - lucky it didn't melt or swell and jam inside the Phantom. LiPo batteries lose efficiency when used at extreme heat for an extended period of time.

They are very susceptible to rapid changes in temperature and pressure - hence the reason they are NOT allowed on an airplane in baggage compartment due to this being a uncontrolled environment for temp changes and pressure (only allowed as carry on - and must be in a safe LiPo carrying bag - 1 battery per/bag).

Photo - end result of an exploded LiPo that was in the baggage compartment of a plane...................................chart below photo showing "suggested" working temperatures and effects.