Maps

Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
49
Can someone tell me why I'm getting a yellow screen with the maps instead of being able to see street names or terrain?
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
30,683
Reaction score
10,079
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
You should be able to switch to the Satellite or Hybrid view by tapping this icon:

111690
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rodee34
Joined
Jan 17, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
19
Location
Kentucky
Which P4? Std, Adv, Pro?
Internet connected?
Maps downloaded (Pro)?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Obsidian Pilot
Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
49
Hi there , thanks for reply . I have the P4P, I think I have worked out that I’m in a geo fly zone . The parameters must have changed because I didn’t used to get the yellow screen . If I’m away from my house a certain distance it’s ok .

Cr 125 Honda , that’s pretty cool , I used to race them , only ever had CR 125s , great bike .
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 1, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
49
You should be able to switch to the Satellite or Hybrid view by tapping this icon:

View attachment 111690
Yeah thanks for reply , it looks like I’m in a geo zone that must have been widened .

I’m using the NLD that I recently purchased and thought by applying no flight zone restrictions I would still be able to see street names , but the zone I’m in is making screen yellow still . I don’t have to go far away from my house and it’s ok . Just had me baffled for a while . Cheers .
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
19
Location
Kentucky
Obsidian, Love the CR. My first was back in 75. Raced quite a bit in the midwest back then, RedBud was my fav.

Here's a post I made to another member that was having a maps issue. Yours is just a street problem but maybe it will help you too.
***************************************************************************************************************************
THIS ONLY APPLIES TO THE PHANTOM 4 PRO PLUS

I was able to duplicate this issue.
I don't use my Plus controller very often.
Usually, I'll use my Pro 4 controller / iPad combo.
Saw your post again this morning and grabbed my Plus and linked it to see if I could duplicate / resolve this issue.
First 2 pics (below) were after linking.
Maps were blank on mine also?? Uh oh.
Time to troubleshoot.
Click the DJI on top left.
Went to maps menu (DJI GO 4, main page), fourth icon, top left.
Downloaded the area maps where I'm at.
Restarted. All good. Got the maps (last 2 pics).

I had to poke the bear!
Here's where I thought I really messed up......

Went back to maps menu and thought I'd delete the downloaded maps and repeat the process.. Just to be sure this all worked correctly.
On my downloaded maps page (again, in DJI GO 4), I saw that there were duplicates of the downloaded maps of my area.
Deleted them both.
Restarted.
Attempted to download maps again.
Download would start, then get stuck at 47%.
Cancelled, restarted, waited. Rinse / repeat, etc.
No luck getting maps to download (would continually stick at 47%) and now my maps page would only show the GEO areas but no streets.

Slight panic mode thinking I just put myself in your boat.

Went through all menus I could think of on remote.
Attached drone to DJI Assistant 2 on PC.
Synced, checked for updates.
Still no maps.

Here's the fix (was for me anyway).

Place finger top / middle of Pro Plus controller screen.
Swipe down. Should see the Volume and Brightness menu.
Below that, I had a box saying an update for DJI GO 4 was available, version V4.3.14 (8-dpad)
Downloaded the new DJI GO 4 app.
Followed all the installation instructions after the download.

Restart.
Maps returned right away!
This means they were coming thru wifi.

Downloaded my area maps again.
This time, the download did not hesitate and went right through to completion at 100%.
Learned something today.
Even though I thought all my firmware and software were current, they were not.
The usual menu I see after start up (MC Menu) and the Systems Settings (then Update) menu on DJI GO 4, do not tell you if there is a new version of DJI GO 4.

After the update, I'm all good again.

Hope this helps.

Anyone with the Standard Phantom 4 Pro controller (GL300F), pay no attention to any of the above.


THIS ONLY APPLIES TO THE PHANTOM 4 PRO PLUS - (GL300E) remote controller.

They are two different animals.
 
  • Like
Reactions: D0CT0R
Joined
Feb 24, 2018
Messages
84
Reaction score
20
Age
64
Location
Cow Hampshire, USA
Obsidian, Love the CR. My first was back in 75. Raced quite a bit in the midwest back then, RedBud was my fav.

Here's a post I made to another member that was having a maps issue. Yours is just a street problem but maybe it will help you too.
***************************************************************************************************************************
THIS ONLY APPLIES TO THE PHANTOM 4 PRO PLUS

I was able to duplicate this issue.
I don't use my Plus controller very often.
Usually, I'll use my Pro 4 controller / iPad combo.
Saw your post again this morning and grabbed my Plus and linked it to see if I could duplicate / resolve this issue.
First 2 pics (below) were after linking.
Maps were blank on mine also?? Uh oh.
Time to troubleshoot.
Click the DJI on top left.
Went to maps menu (DJI GO 4, main page), fourth icon, top left.
Downloaded the area maps where I'm at.
Restarted. All good. Got the maps (last 2 pics).

I had to poke the bear!
Here's where I thought I really messed up......

Went back to maps menu and thought I'd delete the downloaded maps and repeat the process.. Just to be sure this all worked correctly.
On my downloaded maps page (again, in DJI GO 4), I saw that there were duplicates of the downloaded maps of my area.
Deleted them both.
Restarted.
Attempted to download maps again.
Download would start, then get stuck at 47%.
Cancelled, restarted, waited. Rinse / repeat, etc.
No luck getting maps to download (would continually stick at 47%) and now my maps page would only show the GEO areas but no streets.

Slight panic mode thinking I just put myself in your boat.

Went through all menus I could think of on remote.
Attached drone to DJI Assistant 2 on PC.
Synced, checked for updates.
Still no maps.

Here's the fix (was for me anyway).

Place finger top / middle of Pro Plus controller screen.
Swipe down. Should see the Volume and Brightness menu.
Below that, I had a box saying an update for DJI GO 4 was available, version V4.3.14 (8-dpad)
Downloaded the new DJI GO 4 app.
Followed all the installation instructions after the download.

Restart.
Maps returned right away!
This means they were coming thru wifi.

Downloaded my area maps again.
This time, the download did not hesitate and went right through to completion at 100%.
Learned something today.
Even though I thought all my firmware and software were current, they were not.
The usual menu I see after start up (MC Menu) and the Systems Settings (then Update) menu on DJI GO 4, do not tell you if there is a new version of DJI GO 4.

After the update, I'm all good again.

Hope this helps.

Anyone with the Standard Phantom 4 Pro controller (GL300F), pay no attention to any of the above.


THIS ONLY APPLIES TO THE PHANTOM 4 PRO PLUS - (GL300E) remote controller.

They are two different animals.
I can confirm that this worked for me on my P4P+ (GL300E) controller for not only fixing the map issue, but upgrading also allowed me to install the Amazon App Store so I could install Litchi if anyone is having a problem doing that too...
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
134,517
Messages
1,391,564
Members
98,062
Latest member
Kcarey7025