Lost signal, P3 did not RTH: because of battery charge level?

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm new to the P3 (pro) so would appreciate some insight. I lost signal of my P3 the other day while flying low above a river. While knowing why I lost signal, I'm trying to figure out why it did not RTH. I waited 5 min for the craft to come back then ran along the river's edge until I spotted it. It was in attitude mode, hovering stationary at the same spot where it lost signal with controller. I regained control and flew it back. I wonder why it did not RTH upon losing signal. Battery still had 72% charge upon landing. If battery level would have dropped below a certain level during that hover with no signal with controller, would it have eventually RTH?
Thanks!
Corto

No idea why it did that, but if you ever are expecting an RTH and your controller isn't beeping, hit the button and do a manual RTH. The beeping indicates that it's coming home and takes all the guess work out of it.

Reactions: Jbundy63
Thanks for the advice NickCopter. I did hit RTH but as there was no signal between copter and controller, nothing happened.

You likely lost video signal, but not controller signal - two separate things. Not uncommon, just undesirable. It would auto rth at your preset critical battery level, had you done nothing.

Thanks for the advice NickCopter. I did hit RTH but as there was no signal between copter and controller, nothing happened.

I've never heard of anyone losing complete signal between the bird and controller.

Even when I fly out 4 miles and the screen shows 0 bars and the red "no signal" warning, it still returns home without fail when I push the button.

No idea why it did that, but if you ever are expecting an RTH and your controller isn't beeping, hit the button and do a manual RTH. The beeping indicates that it's coming home and takes all the guess work out of it.