Lost my P3 at Sea -Question

Reaction score
hello.

So I'm fairly new to droning, specifically with phantom flying so I know the risks I was taking flying it off my boat. That said, all the amazing shots I was getting on the water were too addicting and I was slowly gaining confidence with what I could do. Well.. her last flight I wanted to get some footage of the boat running and everything was going great........ until.... (how many times do you hear that) The battery got to 50% and I assume the drone thought I was about 3 miles back where the flight started but in reality I was within 300 ft of it. My poor assumption was that it would know this.. hindsight now I think.. how could it have known this....?

Anyway, at 50% battery the drone said FU I need to head back and it started its emergency rth. In a panic I tried to land it before it started its return course not knowing if I would be able to take control of it. I was 2 feet from it when I lost it in the drink.. It was devastating and yes I know I can only blame myself and my inexperience. I had about 15 hours flight time so I was flying with a false sense of confidence.

I have a couple of questions.
If I didnt panic and let it start to fly back. What should have I done?

What is the best course of action / settings so I could have the drone follow me in the scenario to which the original gps location is void.

Thanks guys.

Last edited:
You could have either turned off the Smart Return-to-Home feature in DJI GO or cancelled the RTH before it occurred. DJI GO will display a prompt for 10 seconds to give you time to cancel it before it starts to return home. After it starts returning home, you can easily cancel it by pressing the RTH button on the remote controller.