Lost my FC40 for 8 long minutes. Lesson learned...

Reaction score
I just learned a very good FPV lesson today. I'm a beginner and this was the first time that I couldn't see, hear, or know where my Phantom was for an extended period of time.

I was flying around in a new area and took my Phantom out of sight to go "explore" a bit. I was right about at the limit as I could see the video starting to glitch a bit. I took it down to take a closer look at something and the video completely cut out. I didn't worry too much as I knew I had video feed a little higher so I just brought the quad up a bit. It didn't reconnect. I started to walk towards where I was filming and brought the quad up a bit more. Still nothing. I was right in the place I had lost contact and I couldn't hear or see anything. I sent the quad towards home (with Home Lock) as I knew my batteries were getting low but I still didn't see anything. I figure it must have had "fly away" and that I had lost my quad.

Suddenly, the video feed connected again! The quad was like 500+ ft in the air! I couldn't quite tell where it was but I knew I had sent it way too high (I know a lot of you fly much higher but I've just flown this thing a few times and haven't gone much higher than that yet). I brought it down and sent it home again but the video cut out again. I was afraid it wasn't going home because I was close enough to home to connect but couldn't. I searched the skies and ran to the home location (batteries but be close to fail safe right about now). There I finally heard the wonderful sound of those rotors spinning in the air. I finally caught a glimpse of my Phantom hovering about 20 feet from the home location! It was descending because of the battery and I safely crash landed in a patch of grass near the home location.