Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Loss of GPS in P3S

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by KEN5423, Apr 16, 2016.

  1. KEN5423

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    USA
    Every time I fire up my Phantom 3 Standard,then controller,and then set wifi on my Galaxy S5 and open GO app my GPS goes in and out every 3 seconds and I can not calibrate the compass.I reboot my Go app can calibrate compass and my GPS is rock solid the whole flight.What gives?It is not the hardware it is the Go app software at fault here.Literally every single flight.My latest flight today but I had to actually reboot the Go app 2 times to get it rock solid:


    I do not trust this Go app anymore.DJI CAN YOU HERE ME!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    #1 KEN5423, Apr 16, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2016
  2. WLS350Z

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    28
    yeah im finding something similar, suspect its the Software or a glitch of some sorts. i can replicate what you are saying with an LG G3, an LG GTAB 8 , and an Ipad Mini.
     
  3. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    The common concensus around here is to turn on the contoller (RC) first, and allow sufficient time for connecting your device to the RC.
    Then (I do anyway) open the Go app., then fire up the Phantom.

    See if changing the order of turning things on helps.

    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
     
  4. KEN5423

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    USA
    How much time.......maybe 5 min?
     
  5. Jason Porembski

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    57
    I turn on my RC and connect my phone. (iPhone). Then I turn the bird on. Knock on wood never had a problem with GPS.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    Not sure there is a correct amount if time to wait.
    I turn my RC on, and wait 30 seconds before connecting my phone to the RC via WiFi. The reason I do that, is because in my first few days of owning my Phantom, I had difficulty getting the phone to connect to the RC'S WiFi, so after some experimenting, I found that if I wait for 30 seconds, it connects easily.

    Additionally, I believe the reason for having the RC to be "first item turned on & last item turned off", is so that the quad has a signal from a contoller, any time it is on.
    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Loss GPS P3S Forum Date
$1800 loss in 5 seconds!Losing GPS and drifting 50mph crash Phantom 4 Pro Help Jul 3, 2017
GPS loss Pro/Adv Discussion Apr 9, 2017
GPS sudden loss of signal General Discussion Mar 11, 2017
P4P Loss of GPS poll. Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Dec 31, 2016
P4P anyone having problems with GPS signal loss, and going into attimode all the time when flying? Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Dec 31, 2016