Looking for tips on obtaining 6" accuracy with drone mapping

Reaction score
We're a landscaping company considering using a drone to measure sites for estimating. Our main focus is to generate orthomaps accurate to within 6", with mapping topography being second priority. What will it take to obtain this level of accuracy? Do we need to use GCPs? If yes, what level/type of GPS sensor will we need to establish the positions of the GCPs? I'm assuming a smartphone's built-in GPS isn't accurate enough. Or will a drone's built-in GPS without RTK/PPK provide accurate imagery geotags without GCPs?

As you've maybe guessed already, I'm totally new to drone mapping so I'm looking for beginner-level advice here.

• Wow
Reactions: Aerial Imaging
6” accuracy will be a real issue. You will need a specialized drone and associated equipment for that accuracy level. The normal gps systems used are specced for accuracies of +- 16 feet 95% of the time.

Our main focus is to generate orthomaps accurate to within 6", with mapping topography being second priority. What will it take to obtain this level of accuracy? Do we need to use GCPs? If yes, what level/type of GPS sensor will we need to establish the positions of the GCPs?
Yes .. you can get good accuracy with a P4 pro but you will need GCPs for accuracy.
This article will give you some more info:

Here's a link to some popular terrestrial units suitable for locating GCP data: Emlid – RTK GNSS receivers and accessories