Looking for some experienced with help/advice: For Flying off of Boats

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm still fairly new to drone flying and learning on the fly (no pun intended).
I have a P3 STD and would like to fully understand and be educated for flights from a boat. I need to have someone explain in detail the following relating only to a P3 STD Control:
Which Control Settings (S1 & S2) for over water flight
  1. Position locking (if any) to return to controller (if possible)
  2. Can the controller be set as the home position ?
  3. Can P3 be switched into GPS mode once positioned over water to allow for stability in video's, then switched back out to manual control ?

I'll start with these questions before I go into brain overload.

Thank you for your time and patience.

I'm still fairly new to drone flying
I have a P3 STD and would like to fully understand and be educated for flights from a boat.
Your Phantom is easily capable of flights from a boat but the flying environment at sea is very unforgiving.
You need to be 100% familiar with all operations you would be carrying out and have practiced them on land.Out on a boat is a very bad place to learn new flying techniques.

DJI_0898a-XL.jpg

Which Control Settings (S1 & S2) for over water flight
  1. Position locking (if any) to return to controller (if possible)
  2. Can the controller be set as the home position ?
  3. Can P3 be switched into GPS mode once positioned over water to allow for stability in video's, then switched back out to manual control ?
You'll find an explanation of the S1 and S2 switch positions on page 23 of the manual here: https://dl.djicdn.com/downloads/pha...antom_3_Standard_User_Manual_v1.4_en_0112.pdf
Any of the switch combinations could be used over water.
1 & 2. You can reset the home point in the app (not the S1 & S2 switches)
It can be reset to the current location of either the Phantom or the controller (as long as you have a GPS enabled tablet or phone)