Litchi - responsibile usage or not?

Reaction score
I have been flying drones for 5 or 6 years and never really flown out of my eyesight until last week. I flew a couple of 1 and 2 mile flights. Of course at times I had to depend on what I saw on the monitor and map to see where I was. When I was done I thought that was pretty stupid flying that far away but what a rush! I can't wait to do it again. One of the guys mentioned Litchi and asked if I knew anything about it.

Then I started looking at Litchi to see what it really offered. I came across the missions you can set up and got pretty excited about what you can do. Today I have been on the "mission hub" looking at some of the public missions people have set up and flown. I specifically looked at one's near me in Dallas, Tx and was kind of shocked at what I saw. Beautiful video but the flights were over people and places I would never fly for the worry of hurting someone or worse.

I am not saying everybody, but most, of the missions I saw shouldn't have been flown. Some were even in the dark. My though is it's way too easy (and fun) to sit here at home in front of my computer and go to town on the Mission Hub and start clicking away without giving enough thought to safety. You will end up with some very nice video but is the risk worth it. I am not saying I don't want to try it myself but I can see "Litchi" in the news at some point when something goes bad wrong.

So, when you set up a mission do you take safety into account or just click away? Be honest.

Operator responsibility and common sense. No matter what app or mission or whatever the operator does, in the end, it's their own responsibility that weighs out.