LIPO on a plane

Reaction score
Hi people. I'm a Noob at the moment regarding everything so I'll just ask.
I want to take my P3P over to Tasmania via aeroplane and I'm concerned about the battery. I found this thread, Lipos on a plane, wasn't sure if I could have asked on that thread so I made a fresh one. Does the battery have to be in your hand luggage or can you leave it in the back pack it lives in and go on as luggage??

DJI-P3-50_11.jpg

Hi people. I'm a Noob at the moment regarding everything so I'll just ask.
I want to take my P3P over to Tasmania via aeroplane and I'm concerned about the battery. I found this thread, Lipos on a plane, wasn't sure if I could have asked on that thread so I made a fresh one. Does the battery have to be in your hand luggage or can you leave it in the back pack it lives in and go on as luggage??
Your batteries MUST be in your carry-on luggage.
You are not allowed to put them in your regular checked luggage.
Go to your airline's website and search for Batteries or Lithium.
They will explain in the dangerous goods page what their rules are.

Reactions: MarcusCoburnicus
Also they need to be discharged.
No airline that I've checked has that requirement and no airport security has asked about discharge levels.
The source for the idea seems to be DJI who recommend it and it is a requirement for shipping commercial quantities of lithium batteries as air cargo.

Lipos are in everyone's laptop, ipad, camera etc, etc and no-one is suggesting that they should all be discharged to travel.

Discharge them anyway. Or do you really want to take several of these potential firebombs on a plane:

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I'm flying to Europe from Australia with Etihad this Monday and I'm planning to take my P3P with me. I have emailed Etihad and I got this reply 3 days ago:
"Dear Mr K#######,