LiPo Battery Charge Table

Reaction score
This topic is meant to discuss LiPo charge tables and maybe best practices - not which brand should or should not be used. It is also meant to be for discussion, not necessarily for reference. I would like to hear your thoughts. I am not a battery expert but I have learned a bit in the last few months.

To gird your loins

Here is some general information about LiPo care and feeding for us RC types: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=209187 (don't overcharge, discard batteries that have swollen, max charge rates, recommended charge rates, LiPos are dangerous, etc. This is a post that had dozens of references but mostly other posts on forums. Still - his guidelines rang true to me)

Here is a wiki about LiPo and what the complete discharge state is (3 volts per cell): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lithium_polymer_battery (it also has a lot of general information that is good background)

In a Google quest to find a charge table for LiPos, I found a bit of conflicting information (as always). I found charge tables that represented 'Fuel Table' that did not seem to follow the default recommendations of DJI in their assistant software. I also found information on LiPos that explain what represents a completely discharged battery (and therefore a damaged battery in most cases) but that wasn't even close to the values we normally work with.

In an endurance test for my 810, it fell out of the sky (no graceful/slow landing) when the battery state got to 3.15 volts per cell. In researching this, I found that the particular ESC had a low voltage cutoff (LVC) of 3.15 volts per cell so... duh...

****... that means whatever the tables and information out there are - I must work with what is MY system's restrictions. A nominal '20% battery level' figure may be something quite different on my machines - and it may not be a good difference. I could be ready to land upside down if I push the envelope.