Licensed pilots

Reaction score
I'm curious to know what portion of sUAV/RPA operators on this forum currently hold pilot licenses from the FAA or its equivalent in other countries. When the magic rules eventually materialize in the US and elsewhere they could have a head start over the rest of us.

Check the last part of section 9.1.1.1 of the http://www.faa.gov/about/office_org...tions/uas/coa/faq/media/uas_guidance08-01.pdf AVIATION SAFETY UNMANNED AIRCRAFT PROGRAM OFFICE AIR-160 Interim Operational Approval Guidance 08-01 (page 15):

For the PIC (Pilot IN Control) to be exempt from the pilot certificate requirement … the PIC must have successfully completed, at a minimum,FAA private pilot ground instruction, and have passed the written examination.

I got my private in '87. While training I was renting Cessna 152's for $20 an hour dry, about $30 an hour wet. That doesn't even pay for fuel now.

I have been flying since 1976 and am still active. I fly a Cherokee and a Commander. I now have a Phantom 1 and a Phantom 2 Vision. Its a flying thing! I thought I would add a few comments.

I believe that the FAA might get creative in their approach to drones and I hope it is similar to how they see ultralights. In the ultralight world the FAA says "...it should be emphasized that the individual ultralight operator's support and compliance with national self-regulation programs is essential to the FAA's continued policy of allowing industry self-regulation in these areas." There are minimal regulations regarding ultralight vehicles or ultralight vehicle pilots. (different than ultralight aircraft) The definition of ultralight is the key. (weight, engine size, load capacity) A 2,000 pound drone carrying a payload of 200lbs is a bit different than a Phantom. Being smart in flying and having a self regulating industry is huge.

There are now different types of pilot ratings. As an example, the Sport Pilot rating requires the following: