Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Just want to make sure

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by jasonb777, Jun 3, 2015.

  1. jasonb777

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Jacksonville n.c.
    So I just got my P3 yesterday and I did the firmware upgrade today but just to make sure I want to ask you guys if this is correct. I copied the file on the sd card and put it into the phantom and after about 30 min. or so I came back and took it out( no I didn't hear any beeps because I was away) and I plugged it back into the pc and this is what it says ' The firmware on the SD card is identical to or older than the current firmware on the aircraft' so thats done I guess? already had the right firmware right? and then I did the same with the transmiitter and it says '
    Abort
    The firmware on the SD card is identical to or older than the current firmware on the remote controller.' so is that good too? I just want to make sure so don't be to hard on me. Yes I did read the entire manual, but just want to double check. And one more thing guys, with my old phantom v2 I had a download I could plug my bird into and check all stats and make adjustments. Is that not available with the P3? How do you calibrate your transmitter?
     
  2. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    Orlando
    short answer - yes.

    I had the same experience you did... everything was fine. You should be good to go unless the pilot app tells you something is not right.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,609
    Likes Received:
    7,768
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    This is all done from the DJI Pilot application.
     
  4. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,857
    Likes Received:
    1,146
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    If you just got the bird, it's already got the latest firmware.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,609
    Likes Received:
    7,768
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    Everyone should be double-checking though -- since some birds could have been sitting around for quite a while.
     
  6. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    710
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    I learned a lot about the pilot app here:

     
  7. jasonb777

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Jacksonville n.c.
    Awesome guys I really appreciate all the help, but I do have one more question. When the camera is at its highest position it makes a little noise from the gimbal, is that normal. Reason why is because I remember the PV2 not making any noise at all until you spun the motors of course. When I received my phantom yesterday the gimbal lock had fallen off inside the box.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - sure Forum Date
Not sure what's going on Standard/4k Discussion Aug 7, 2017
UK Drone pressure group? General Discussion Jul 31, 2017
Question about long exposure Osmo Mobile Jul 22, 2017
Noob help with Sky photos and exposure Photos and Video Jul 20, 2017
Long Exposure with my Phantom 3S Photos and Video Jul 18, 2017