Just received my P2! Maiden flight done!

Reaction score
To be honest I am very nervous to fly it for the first time. It came fully assembled with the mini iosd, FPV TX and H3 3D gimbal already attached. I have been flying planes for 15 years and have flown a small Eflight coaxial heli. I have also been practising on a simulator for my ipad for the last few weeks. I am charging up all the batteries as we speak. Should I go through the work of removing the gimbal and just flying it? Or should I go full out and hook up the go pro and FPV? What did you guys do? I am sure I will fly it just fine. Just a bit nervous. And of course I will do all the pre flight checks and calibrate the compass.

Re: Just received my P2!

I would pull the gimbal and Tx off until you get a feel for it. There's no reason to expect a flyaway if you go through all the proper pre-flight procedures, and there's no reason to expect a crash since they are really very easy to fly, but why risk it? :cool:

Just take it easy for the first few flights and build up gradually. Find yourself a nice open space if you can and just take off and hover for a bit - in GPS mode it will keep itself where it is without your help. Then just land and power down the motors to feel what that's like. Again, no big deal - just do it slowly. Then just take off again and try the sticks gently. Go up and down to see how that feels, then forward and back, left and right etc. Build up to some turns using the left stick. Keep it close to you (or you close to it - no reason why you can't walk around with it.

You'll soon laugh at how nervous you were - they really are very easy to fly and super fun too. Just don't get carried away and remember: keep it in GPS mode in a wide open space and if in doubt: LET GO OF THE STICKS!! It will hover in place until you have your wits about you and can take control again.

Enjoy! And let us know how your first flight went.