Just got a Phantom, seeing strage battery charger behavior

Reaction score
Hello Pilots,

I'm completely new to the Phantom, just unboxed it a few hours ago. My first step was to charge the included battery and I'm seeing a sequence of lights that I don't see listed in the manual: LED 1 and the Charge Status LED blink red, alternately back and forth. I've had the battery on charge for about 2 hours with no change.

When I did plug it into the Phantom there was a loud alarm and some flashing lights which I interpreted as a low battery warning.

Do I have a bad battery?

Re: Just got a Phantom, seeing strage battery charger behavi

did you have the charger set to the "LiPo" position and not the "LiOn" position, and was the balance lead (four small wires) connected?

Thanks for your response. I did have the balance lead connected and the switch set to LiPo.

Changing that switch does not alter the blinking red light behavior. Pulling the balance lead results in the Charge Status LED showing green.

The Phantom is supposed to make some sounds and blink lights every time you attach the battery. Check the manual.

Just be carful lipos can be Dangerous if you are having problems charge in a safe place . I use a clay pot and I am never to far away while I have one charging .
GL

Thanks for the tips.

I borrowed a battery tester and the answer was that the battery had 1 dead cell.

Did you ever figure this out? One of my batterys is doing the same thing.Wont take a charge when I hook it up,the charger is just alternating red blinking lights.Pisses me off,guess the battery is bad and its only been used a few times and as soon as I see the warning light on phantom turn red I land.

Yes, it was a bad battery (1 dead cell).

htownphantom said: