Just a few musings from the new guy.

Reaction score
Hi, I am the new guy. My name is Dennis, I'm 6' 225lbs, blue eyes br..... wait, what? sorry wrong site.

I'm actually a helicopter mechanic working on UH-72s for the Army in Germany.
Any-who, I just got a P2V, my first quadcopter. I've had a few airplanes and cars but never a helicopter or multi-rotor. I flew a friends micro and had a blast. So I decided to jump right in and buy an expensive one. LOL. I like photography and thought this would be a nice addition to my camera addiction, I mean hobby.
The main thing I worry about is if the government is actually going to do anything to restrict the flying of our quads more than they already have. I live in Germany right now, but I am returning to the states in December. So did I waste $1000? If I can't fly anywhere, what good are they?
Another thing is the term "DRONE". I think this is a big part of the problem with our hobby. The word drone conjures up images of FLIR footage of insurgents meeting Allah and Hellfire strikes. Even the term UAV is a little harsh because of the medias portrayal of military unmanned aircraft. I would really like to distance the quads from both words.
Also I know there are plenty of threads about the legality of using them to for revenue, but what are your thoughts on just posting videos on Youtube and making money that way? Is it the same as going out and getting paid to film something for a third party?
Another idea I had, I have a lot of ideas, some good, some not so good. But is there any way to record the flight telemetry from the iPhone display onto the video? That could be used for some interesting shots.
Thank you for your attention, I'm sure I'll come up with more ramblings. Discuss.