Judging Altitude Before Mission

Reaction score
I live in very far western KY and I am wanting to send my PV2+ on her first Ground Station Mission. In my part of the country we have a lot of wooded rolling hills and valleys and I was wondering what would be an all around safe height to set my waypoint altitudes. I know to set my first waypoint above my home lock location as to avoid any trees as she makes her way to her first waypoint. I am just apprehensive to set a specific altitude fearing it may not be high enough to clear all the trees as she makes her way to each waypoint. Please keep in mind I am a Newbie to the sport and I am also horrible at judging height and distance. I am just trying to error on the side of caution. Any advice and as little hazing as possible (I expect some and don't offend easily, LOL) would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much.

Hmmm thats a difficult one not seeing the geography myself. Maybe you could get an ordanance map of your area and check out altitudes around your home point and subract the different altitudes around you to get an idea, only problem is the map wont account for trees. Another option is at home to use google earth and zoom in around the areas you will fly to get an idea. Probably the easiest way is to fly over these areas in gps mode and look at the altitude on your screen and write them down so if you set a waypoint there you will know the altitude. I'll keep thinking of some ideas.