I've been trying to shoot you down!

Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm fairly new to the drone thing. I realise that you need to be careful where you fly a drone, so I've tried to carefully plan before I have a practice. Today, I found an open field which looked like the perfect spot to fly the drone, in the middle of green belt. There is the occasional house around, and the motorway is a good mile or so in the distance. Half way through the flight I was approached by a man who was filming me with his mobile. I thought that he was admiring my figure of 8's! But, it turned out he wasn't happy as he said I was flying over his house and filming him. 1. The gopro camera wasn't attached, so I know I was fine on that one. He then said that he's been trying to shoot me down! Anyway, it turns out he's a bad shot as there's no damage to the drone, but I thought that because I was definitely over 50m high it would be okay!? He claimed that I needed to be over 150m away. Again, that's not true! Can someone clarify if it's okay to fly over a house as long as it's 50m in height? Thank you. Ben

Steve Mann has some excellent insight to this. But he does not own airspace beyond the useful working space above or around the home. Tell him you will call the police and do so - for shooting in the air. The neighbor is violating a whole lot more by firing weapons into the air and risking the public with errant bullets.

Sent from my PT beating heart

You cannot get legal advice here.... esp. from some anonymous poster!!!

What good is being right if your harmed by someone?

Never get into a pi$$ing contest with a man who claims/admits to shooting at your quad.

Not even a document that [you say] gives you the 'right' to fly at or above any specific height over his property will be convincing to this type of person.

Do you know who's property you we're on/over?