It's been asked, but here is my situation

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a complete newbie and am trying to decide which Phantom to purchase. I am not much of a DIY and don't really want o be drilling holes or soldering wires. I am looking at this as a recreational use but am kinda of a video/picture snob.

I bought a Hero 3+ black over Christmas with the idea of getting the Phantom 2 w/gimbal, etc etc.

As with any purchase I make just as I was about to hit purchase and they announce the 2v+ which has what I think is everything I want: Quad, Camera, FPV. Buying the 2v+ appeals to me as it's ready out of the box but I don't want to be disappointed with the camera. I have seen the demos on Youtube and it appears the quality is as good or at least pretty darn close to that of a gopro?

I am leaning towards the P2V+, am I headed in the right direction?

Thanks for the help!

I'm a relative newbie as well, but I'm full-time photographer so video and image quality count a lot in my book. If you want simplicity and don't care so much about image quality or upgradeability, I'd go for the p2v+...

If you don't mind about 20 min of simple soldering, and the potential to upgrade cameras and gimbal control in the future, I'd go with the p2 with the latest 3 axis gimbal.

Choosing the right FPV set up is not that hard and for me at least, it was fun and informative, learning about it all. There are several set-ups that are proven and tons of people love. The IRC/ fat shark set-ups seem to wrk for everyone. My 1.3 ghz set up is a little unconventional for a phantom 2, but it works awesomely, and I love it. I also have a new Futaba radio controller on the way to be able to customize a lot of flight and camera control characteristics that you probably can't with the p2v+

my .02
Good luck! It's a lot of fun.