Is the FC40 the way to go?

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to this fantastic forum, I used to fly RC helis but I could master it and im just getting back into the hobby. I am going to buy a phantom but my biggest question is which one? My budget isn't massive so the obvious choice is an FC40 but I'm just wondering if I wait and get a Phantom 2 as there seems to be more updates and features for the Phantom 2. My main thoughts for going for an FC40 are the price, and also the fact that the batteries are cheaper, but on the negative side I'm wondering how long DJI will be selling parts for the FC40/Phantom. Any advice would be greatly received.

The FC40 was the only choice for me. I couldn't afford any of the Phantom 2 flavors.

One advantage with the 2s is that they give the altitude, heading, battery level, etc on the screen.

The enormous price difference for batteries is a deal breaker for me, though. I have seen hacks on how to overcome this, but I don't know if they figured out a way to defeat the "smart" part, that disables the battery after a set number of uses. Look on the Phantom 2 forums.

Get the reg phantom, more choice in FPV gear, I made my fc40 so I can use my dx8 lots of choices in FPV this way

FC40 was definitely the way for me to go. The vision is great, but the price was not so great. Also the vision battery was an issue for me as I wanted to be able to change battery types. I was not liking that Proprietary battery at all, or the price for it. With some slight modifications, you can use a 4000 on the FC40. Also, I can use a gopro on the FC40 without possible interference. I've extended the video range and control range, so distance is not an issue. I can go further, but I have not had the courage to do it. :lol: