Is it just me or do others have this fear?

Reaction score
I am new to flying quads and have learned many valuable tips on here about operating my P3P. I have been flying now for about 6 weeks with no bad experiences, but I must admit, that I still have a fear of losing my P3P. How long does it take to develop an absolute trust with this machine, I have done extensive reading and watching Youtube videos and feel as though I have a pretty good working knowledge of it. From what I can determine from most crashes, it's been pilot error, but those crash videos still make me over protective of my P3P. Whenever I fly over water or lose site of it, my hands get sweaty and my pulse races until it back to safe ground. The only time I really feel comfortable flying is when I'm in an open field with LOS, I have flown FPV but not without trepidation. I truly want to get past this fear and would love to hear how others have overcome it.

Maybe I shouldn't have given my P3P a name, I feel like she is part of the family now.

You should never trust it completely.
It's an r/c toy. It will fail, and depending on when, it will fall.

Since you don't have absolute control this should temper how, where and when you fly it.

As many Phantom owners have never experienced r/c aviation before they're not prepared for when there's a failure.
Loss of aircraft, even if recovered and repairable, should be something you are prepared for or at least accept it can happen at any time.

Fly safe so that only the Phantom suffers if there's a failure

Maybe absolute trust was a bad choice, maybe flying confidence was a better choice of words.

Listen to the (good :) ) voices in your head. i.e go with your gut.

If you feel uncomfortable for any reason stop and reevaluate.

Reactions: Clipper707
Stole this from someone but my advice is
41MJXHKKZ9L__SY300_.jpg
and if it does come down and been there do as I do ! :)
girl crying 1.jpg